The Trust is administered by a Board of Trustees who determine policy, scrutinize applications and take decisions on which projects to support.


  • Dr Derek Pollard OBE (Chairman)
    drp-mediumDerek has a degree in Chemistry and a PhD in nuclear chemistry, a doctorate in Education, an honorary degree from Philadelphia and is an Emeritus Trustee of Richmond AI University. Headed a research unit in radiochemistry in the University of London and  developed academic accreditation and quality assurance methodology for higher education with the Council for National Academic Awards and as Director of Validation Services for The Open University. He chaired the group which developed professional competence standards for UK youth workers. Having been a Queens Scout Derek ran a Senior Scout and Venture Scout Unit and has held many positions in the UK Scout Association including Headquarters Commissioner; County Commissioner and Chief Commissioner for England. He worked with an Explorer Scout unit for those with disabilities and is a patron of Walton Firs Activity Centre and chairs The Surrey Lifelong learning Partnership. He was awarded an OBE in 1996 for services to education  and holds the Silver Wolf from UK Scouting and the Bronze Wolf from World Scouting for services to young people. He spent 6 years as Chairman of the World Scout Organization’s Constitutions Committee . He is a consultant to the World Scout Bureau in Kuala Lumpur and is a board member of The World Scout Foundation in Geneva chaired by HM The King of Sweden.
  • Mr John Huskins
    john-huskinsOfficer in British Army during National Service Cambridge University (Natural Sciences, Biochemistry, Education) Chemistry teacher Charterhouse (Baden-Powell’s school), Scout Leader and Assistant County Commissioner Scouts, Director of Leader Training for The Scout Association, Camp Chief Gilwell Park. Chair, European Scout Training Committee, Member World Scout Training Committee. HM Inspector of Schools – Youth Work Specialist, responsible for work with disaffected youth. National Consultant for work with disaffected youth. Specialised in adolescent personal social and leadership development, accredited through the Youth Achievement Awards.
  • Mr Richard Oscroft MBE – nominated by the World Scout Foundation
    Retired Senior Executive of a major UK Bank. An active volunteer in a number of roles, especially in Scouting –  from the age of 8 years. Most recently District Commissioner, Chelmsford & District (1991 – 1997), a Deputy County Commissioner, Essex Scouts (1997 -2003, including acting DC for Harlow District (2000 – 2003)) Member of the Jamboree Management Team and other committees for 21st World Scout Jamboree 2007 in Chelmsford (1995 – 2007). District Chairman, Chelmsford & District (2007 – to date). Vice President Southgate District Scouts (many years – to date). Awarded the Silver Wolf in 2008. An active Rotarian for 19 years. A member of the International Fellowship of Scouting Rotarians. Awarded the Paul Harris Fellowship in 2007. Awarded an MBE in HM Birthday Honours 2008 – for voluntary Work in the Community of Essex.
  • Mr Jorgen Rasmussen – nominated by the European Scout Foundation
    jorgen-mediumaBorn in Copenhagen, Denmark. Living in Lenzburg/Zürich Switzerland. Officer in the Royal Danish Army Pay Corps for National Service. Graduated from the CBS (Copenhagen Business School ), post graduation at the IMD and St. Gallen University, Switzerland. Served as director and chairman on commercial company boards. Advisor on management in middle-sized companies, and manages the I.Q. Finance AG. Honorary Chairman of The European Scout Foundation. Widely travelled and fluent in the Scandinavian, German and English languages. Jorgen has  been Chairman of the Danish Scout council, Danish International Commissioner and Chairman of the Nordic Scout Council, Regional director for Europe and Director of World Operations/Deputy Secretary General of World Scout Bureau. Jorgen holds the Bronze Wolf of the World Scout Movement and has been Chairman of the Honours and Awards Committee.
  • Mr Dean Smith   

    087-klinestudios-mediumaDean served for 32 years in Northamptonshire Police holding the final substantive rank of Detective Chief Superintendent and leading a specialist crime and operations department comprising 650 Officers and staff. He joined the Scout Association in 1979 and has held various appointments at every level from group through to national roles. He is currently Chair of the national headquarters Future Leaders Group tasked with developing an innovative and creative method of introducing talent management into UK Scouting. In 2006 Dean was awarded the Silver Wolf by the UK Scout Association ‘for services to Scouting of the most exceptional nature’. As a section leader Dean has also been involved in Explorer Belt Expeditions and numerous international expeditions. In 2007 Dean led the emergency Incident Management Centre at the World Jamboree in Essex. He has been involved in Scout Association training of adults for over 25 years holding various county appointments.

  • Miss Anne Whiteford
    img_1050bAnne worked for Scouting professionally for over 20 years.  First in the Programme Department at Gilwell Park running training courses and large development projects. including – UNITE with UNICEF and The Uganda Scouts Association introducing development education into the Scout Programme, GAPP, a peer education programme on development education for young adults and support to the complete review of the 6-25 programme, resulting in an updated UK Scout Programme. Then at the World Scout Bureau in Geneva on Strategy for Scouting, leading the Educational Methods Team and as desk officer for the Africa Scout Region. Anne led the WOSM team at World Events and was awarded the African Elephant in 2012 by the African Region Committee for significant support to growth and development of the Region and her contribution to the Africa Scout Foundation. Anne lives in Scotland. She works as a Tutor / Assessor in Management and Volunteers for Borders College and Scouts Scotland as Scottish Headquarters Commissioner for Development.

  • Treasurer – Mr Oliver Davies FCA
  • Research Officer – Dr Sarah Mills, Senior Lecturer, University of Loughborough